In the second posting of this multi-part series we will cover some frequently asked questions regarding Montana Landlord-Tenant law.
Q: How long do I have to return a tenants’ security deposit?
A: Generally the security deposit must be returned 30 days subsequent to the termination of tenancy - along with a statement of deductions. If there are no damages, no unpaid rent or other money due to the Landlord and the Tenant can demonstrate that there are no utilities due then the security deposit must be returned within 10 days.
See MCA – 70-25-202
Q: When may a Landlord enter a Tenant’s unit?
A: When they give 24 hours advance notice to make a repair/improvement/alteration, to supply a service, or to show unit to purchaser/mortgagee/tenant/contractor/worker. Landlord is not required to give a 24 hour notice in the event of an emergency, court order or when impracticable.
See MCA – 70-24-312
Q: When must a Landlord provide heat to a unit?
A: A Landlord is required to provide heat between October 1st and May 1st.
See MCA – 70-24-303
Legal Fine Print: This information provided by Montana Property Education is provided for informational purposes only; it is not offered as and does not constitute legal advice.
10/26/2016 02:16:54 pm
Is Montana landlord responsible for removal of molds
Your comment will be posted after it is approved.
Leave a Reply.
Sarnen is owner/founder of Montana Property Education and is a State of Montana approved real estate instructor. He is also a licensed property manager, broker and owner of Blue River Property Management, LLC. in Helena, MT www.blueriverpm.com.
This information provided by Montana Property Education is provided for informational purposes only; it is not offered as and does not constitute legal advice.